March 29th, 2017

A day trip to Reading Museum and the Bayeux Tapestry
A church micro at St. Paul's Church Wokingham
and a side-tracked near Wokingham Station

Reading Museum
The Tapestry Room,
Reading Museum
The Tapestry Room,
Reading Museum
The Tapestry Room,
Reading Museum
The Tapestry Room,
Reading Museum

The arrow in the eye
Reading Museum
Eustace and the Papal Banner
Reading Museum
What is it?
Reading Museum
St. Mont Michel
Reading Museum
Panel 1
Reading Museum
This first panel was completed by Elizabeth Wardle, the instigator of the replica tapestry.
The work was carried out by the 35 members of the Leek embroidery society in 1885.
It was completed in 1886.
Conan's Escape
Reading Museum
Keys to the city
Reading Museum
Harold and the oath swearing ceremony
Reading Museum
Godwin Gretsith the master mason
Reading Museum
Panel 2
Reading Museum
This panel was completed by Miss Phoebe Wardle of Cheddleton Heath.
Thomas Wardle created the 8 coloured wools to match the original tapestry.
Workers dispute at Hastings Castle.
Reading Museum
King Harold's crowning ceremony
Reading Museum
Turold the dwarf
Reading Museum

What is it?
Reading Museum

Panel 4
Reading Museum
This panel was completed by Miss Ann Clowes.
After completion in 1886 the tapestry toured throughout England.
The replica tapestry also visited South Africa, America and Germany.
The hand of God
Reading Museum
Halley's Comet
Reading Museum
Lantern on the mast of the 'Mora'
Reading Museum
The hoary apple tree on Telham hill
Reading Museum
Panel 5
Reading Museum
This panel was completed by Miss E. Gater, Miss Mary Bishop, Miss Mary Alice Garside and Miss Ann Cartwright
The tapestry was sold in 1895 to the former Mayor of Reading Alderman Arthur Hill, for £300
A barrel of wine
Reading Museum
Feast before the battle
Reading Museum
Barbacue and chicken Kebabs
Reading Museum
William, Odo and Robert
Reading Museum
Panel 8
Reading Museum
This panel was completed by Miss Anne Smith of Endon Bank, Stoke-on-Trent

In 1992 the tapestry was cleaned, re-mounted and placed back on display in a purpose-built gallery at Reading Museum
Stigand performs the crowning ceremony
Reading Museum
The last supper
Reading Museum
Edward the Confessors final hours
Reading Museum
Panel 12
Reading Museum
This panel was completed by Mary Edith Watson, Miss Alice Patinson, Macclesfield, Mrs Emily A. Bate
The tapestry details were taken from hand-coloured photographs supplied by the South Kensington Museum. (Now the V&A)
Building Hastings Castle
Reading Museum
Houses are burnt
Reading Museum
The Malfosse
Reading Museum
Edith at Edward's side
Reading Museum
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham
The font, St. Paul's
Church, Wokingham
Nave and chancel
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham
Wall paintings
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham
The organ
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham
The Altar
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham
Processional banner
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham
Painted Screen
St. Paul's Church, Wokingham

The British Rail Class 165 Turbo is a fleet of suburban diesel multiple units built by BREL York Works between 1990 and 1992.
The British Rail Class 450 began service in 2003. They are a part of the Siemens Desiro modular train family, commonly known as the 'Blue Desiro'